Municipal Public Information Contest 

The Municipal Public Information Contest is a recognition program sponsored by Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, New Jersey State League of Municipalities, and New Jersey Municipal Management Association that honors initiatives to increase the public's awareness of government operations, strengthen community ties, and provide useful information and services to citizens. The purpose of this contest is to promote the use of successful and innovative techniques that increase government’s ability to meet citizen needs and improve access to government services.


The 57th Annual Municipal Public Information contest is accepting entries from municipalities for materials produced between Sept. 1, 2017, and August 31, 2018. 

Contest winners will be informed in late October and awards will be presented at the 103rd Annual New Jersey State League of Municipalities Conference, League Luncheon, on November 16, 2017 in Atlantic City. Winning entries will be posted on the Center for Government Services website and local media in your area will be notified. Award plaques will be shipped to contest winners who cannot attend the Luncheon.

All entries must be received by Friday, Sept. 14, 2018. A downloadable copy of a contest brochure/entry form and a list of previous contest winners are available at

Previous Winners

The following is a listing of previous contest winners.

  1. 2017
  2. 2016
  3. 2015
  4. 2014
  5. 2013
  6. 2012
  7. 2011
  8. 2010


  • Asbury Park City (Best Print Media, Class B Municipality)
  • Brick Township (Best Special/Innovative Media, Class C Municipality)
  • Cherry Hill Township (Best Print Media, Class C Municipality)
  • Evesham Township (Best Visual Media, Class C Municipality)
  • Franklin Lakes Borough (Best Web/Social Media, Class B Municipality)
  • New Providence Borough (Best Special/Innovative Media, Class B Municipality)
  • Perth Amboy City (Best Overall Public Information Program)
  • Summit City (Best Web/Social Media, Class C Municipality)

Honorable Mention

  • Aberdeen Township
  • Cherry Hill Township
  • Deptford Township
  • Fair Haven Borough
  • Jersey City
  • Millburn Township
  • Riverton Borough