View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

April 1, 2015

Re: Local Government Group Marks 100 Years

Dear Editor:

If you can identify a reporter who will cover this event, please ask them to pre-register by contacting Lori Buckelew, senior legislative analyst, by email or 606-695-3481 extension 112
This year marks the 100th Anniversary of the establishment of the New Jersey State League of Municipalities; 100 years of local government cooperation and dedication to good self-government. All 565 municipalities choose to be members of the League of Municipalities and this is a once in a lifetime opportunity to pause and recognize the importance of local government in New Jersey. At the same time, we are commemorating Executive Director Bill Dressel’s retirement after 41 years of service with the League. Details on the history of the League and Bill Dressel’s career are also available at the 100 Years Event page.

This event is scheduled for:

May 7, 2015 - Hilton East Brunswick
3 Tower Center Boulevard, East Brunswick, NJ 08816 

7:30 p.m. Dinner Program
Among the dignitaries scheduled to attend are:

Hon. James J. Florio, Former Governor of NJ
Hon. Stephen Sweeney, Senate President
Hon. Jim McGreevey, Former Governor of NJ
Hon. Christine Todd Whitman, Former Governor of NJ
Hon. Jon Bramnick, Assembly Republican Leader
Hon Thomas Kean, Senate Republican Leader
Hon. Kim Guadagno, Lieutenant Governor of NJ

Anniversary Planning Committee

Suzanne M. Walters, League Immediate Past President, Mayor, Stone Harbor
Mayor Chuck Chiarello, Buena Vista; League Past President
Deputy Mayor Daniel N Coranoto, Hampton Township; League Executive Board
Phyllis Marchand, League Past President
Paul J. Matacera, League Past President
Timothy McDonough, League Past President; Mayor, Hope
Mayor Arthur R. Ondish, Mount Arlington; League Past President
Mayor James Perry, Hardwick; Member, Executive Board